

## Membership and Tenure of the Scientific Advisory Board

Tourettes Action adheres to and upholds the AMRC's Principles of Peer Review and encompasses: Accountability, Balance, Independence, Rotation and Impartiality.

## 1. Membership

- a. Within the remit of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) Tourettes Action aims to have balanced SAB membership which is comprised of scientific, clinical and academic expertise who can give the appropriate level of scrutiny to research applications.
- b. If the research call for a round requires specific expertise, additional members can be co-opted to ensure the SAB has the appropriate level of expertise to review applications and contribute to the funding discussion.
- c. The aim and role of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is to put forward which of the submitted research award proposals are scientifically sound and fundable. It is not required for the proposals to be ranked in order of preference by the SAB. Instead the SAB can put forward all of those applications which they think are fundable.
- d. Tourettes Action staff are present to provide a secretariat function and ensure Governance around decision-making and conflict of interest is managed within the meeting.
- e. To encourage, stimulate and support research related to Tourettes syndrome;
- f. To assist and advise in the formulation and the funding of research proposals;
- g. To receive and consider applications for funding in addition to the peer reviewers;
- h. To approve applications and recommend appropriate research projects after endorsements from the peer review panel;
- To monitor the progress and outcomes of research activities funded by Tourettes Action;
- To seek funds to support research and development and to provide a database on funding bodies.
- k. In line with the Association of Medical Research Charity (AMRC) best practice guidance, Tourettes Action aims to select committee members across a breadth of experience, expertise, institutions, age and gender to provide a balanced view.
- I. The SAB's recommendations will be presented to the board of trustees via the RSC.

## 2. Tenure

The table below shows the tenure of the current SAB members at October 2016. The members of the SAB can sit on the committee for three years, at which point they can commence another three-year period on the committee but after this second term must be replaced.

Member	Term 1 - Start	Term 1- End	Term 2 - Start	Term 2 - End
Chair (Inaugural) Professor John Rothwell	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	One more year Professor John Rothwell	October 2020
Professor Andrew Lees	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
Seonaid Anderson (TA research manager, liaison role)	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
Jolande Van Der Griendt (Registered healthcare psychologist and cognitive behavioural therapist) (Netherlands)	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
*Professor Eileen Joyce National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (Neuropsychiatry)	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
*Dr Jeremy Stern TA medical director	Oct 2016	Oct 2019	Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
Dr D Craufurd Consultant and Senior Lecturer in Neuropsychiatric Genetics Manchester	Oct 2016	Oct 2019 Will leave at this point as retired	Replaced by Professor Mark Edwards	
Professor Mark Edwards Professor of Neurology at St George's, University of London Atkinson Morley Regional Neuroscience Centre.			Oct 2019 Confirmed	Oct 2022
(Lay members) Kate McCullough, Lucy Toghill, Ashley Curry, Adrian Reynolds Withdrawn	Oct 2016	Oct 2019		
*Anna Bhandari (Chair or RSC)	Oct 2018	Oct 2021		

<sup>\*</sup>Board member